Time really does tell all

I have this friend who I’ve known since year 3, age 7. We were so close, almost like sisters. Even after we went to different schools for year 7, we always saw each other. I knew everything about her, and she knew everything about me. We could FaceTime for hours just gossiping about the latest nothing. She was there for me when I lost both my grandfathers and when I went through dramas at home, she was the only one I confided in. But something happened. Something changed in her. She grew close to someone else and my friendship wasn’t as important to her anymore. I still tried to be there for her, but she wasn’t there for me.

We went on a school trip up to Covent Garden in late November and when the time came for shopping, she didn’t want to because she wasn’t feeling too great and she hadn’t enjoyed it the last time we came, so I said that I would sit in Starbucks with her and keep her company. Our friendship started to rekindle and I really enjoyed myself. She made me go to the toilet with her (she has a fear of locked doors from when she was younger). We laughed at the fact that when we came out, not only was there a good looking guy waiting, but a whole line of people. We had to do the walk of shame and we were thoroughly embarrassed, but it brought us closer. The second time she made me go with her, we were waiting for a toilet to free and when the door did open, first a man walked out and then a woman who was wiping her hands. You can imagine the thoughts that were going through our heads,

When the time had come to leave the warmth of Starbucks and head off to the iceskating rink, we headed outside to find our tutor groups to get registered. As soon as we left the coffee house, she acted as if we didn’t know each other. She linked arms with someone else and headed off to the ice rink, leaving me to walk alone. I felt like crying, and I still do sometimes when I think about it.

She doesn’t know much about me anymore, If you asked her what I wanted to do with my life, she’ll most probably not know the answer.

Should I try and fix the relationship that she doesn’t seem interested in anymore? Or should I just move on and savour the memories that we once shared?

Advice is much needed…

One comment

  1. mohdnaufil · January 3, 2015

    Speechless!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

