You see that girl in the corner? Yeah, well, that’s me…

You could say that I’m not a very outgoing person, well at least not in a large crowd with people I don’t know. Well actually, to be honest, I’m not very “out there” with my group of friends at times.

Do you ever wonder if the people who you call “friends” would ever miss you if you left? I do, and I have been given the answer a couple of times. When my group of friends spilt up, as we all were going to different schools, we all made that pact that we would always chat and see each other often. Well this test really proved who was willing to make the effort to keep in touch.

Some people, who are used to all the attention, don’t realise how lonely someone can get when in a crowd of people who aren’t talking to you. I know the feeling, I get it often. I sometimes take a moment to look around me at my so called “friends” and see what they’re really like. You can tell so much by someones body language. You can see when a girl is trying to get a guys attention, she’ll flirtatiously laugh at him, even if there was not joke, she will be all giggly and most probably play with her hair. You can tell if someone has somewhere better to be as they’re constantly on their phones, talking to the people who they really want to be with. There are people who always have to be centre of attention and the lead of the conversation and they will always be inserting themselves and making sure that they are heard by moving so that everyone can see them. And finally, you can tell when someone is upset and/or contemplating life as they’re very quiet and fixated on one spot. They are hearing to their surroundings, but not listening. I would call myself one of those people.

I’ve had enough of where I am. I want to be doing something that makes a difference. I want to be with people who want to be with me because they want to, not just because our paths happen to cross. I want to have friends that messaged me when they haven’t seen me for a few days to make sure that I’m alive and not spend hours waiting for there reply.

Yes, that does make me sound boring and needy, but I guess that’s how I am, so I suggest that you either take or leave it.

The choice is up to you…..

2 comments

  1. mohdnaufil · January 3, 2015

    I appreciate your writing skills! 🙂
    There’s nothing better than belonging to a group of friends and nothing worse than feeling like an outcast. Friends are important but should never become your centre because they develop new friends and forget you. They have mood swings.
    In Addition, If you base your identity on having friends, being accepted and being popular, you may find yourself compromising your standards or changing then every weekend to accommodate your friends.
    Make as many friends as you can, but don’t build your life on them It’s an unstable foundation. (Extracted from “7 Habits Of Highly Effective Teenagers)
    This is an answer for your latest blog as well “Time really does tell all”

    Like

    • pippa's blog · January 3, 2015

      Thank you for your compliment and reminding me of that. It’s sometimes hard when you feel like your friends have forgotten about you, but you have to remember that it’s not the end of the world.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

